The soccer intercontinental championship, now denominated Confederations Cup, was created in 1992 and had its organization taken over by FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association) as of 1997. Its first edition was in Saudi Arabia, with the name of King Fahd’s Cup, won by Argentina.

Held every four years, the tournament takes place one year before the Soccer World Cup in the same country staging the latter and participants are the host country, the world champion and its six continental champions.

Brazil, winner in 1997, 2007 and 2009, is the great star of the Confederations Cup, followed by France, with two victories, and, then by Mexico, Denmark and Argentina, with one victory each.